AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 33 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: "Discus Genetics and Breeding Info and Discussion"

Registered Member

Thumbs up "Discus Genetics and Breeding Info and Discussion"

Hi Discus Lovers,
    I am starting a thread on "Discus Genetics and Breeding Info ." My aim is to learn and channel what breeding techniques creates these amazing beauties. I will also like to hear from both sides i.e novices to the experts from their trials, failures and success. I am a novice breeder with little experience on the genetics of discus. However i have raised other types of ornamental fishes and using my breeding techniques, i have adopted them to breeding discus. Some of the ideas and techniques mentioned here are what i have gathered from articles as well as experience, both from myself and breeders (not in the discus realm), if there are any inaccurate information i humbly apologize.

There are 2 main types of breeding.
    -Inbreeding and
    -Crossbreeding.
    These also have several sub divisions within the main classification.

Inbreeding refers to (“blood-related”) breeding where individuals are closer related than the average population.
    Inbreeding is often used when a new breed or strain is created or one of the individuals has perished and one wants to continue the line as it is not available externally. However it has both inherent advantages and disadvantages. This is where one must be vigilant in following proper breeding techniques since recessive genes can become dominant causing more damage than intended. This type of breeding has been used extensively in agriculture i.e. crops and livestock. Inbreeding seldomly occurs in nature but due to man's influence we have selectively breed related individuals for our own fancy and purpose. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.