ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: My new addiction ! Download Warning

Registered Member

Default My new addiction ! Download Warning

Hi

Just thought after browsing on here awhile i would post up and say hello

Im new to discus but am a experienced fish keeper, after keeping and breeding malawi`s and catfish for the last few years i have taken the plunge into discus and have been bitten badly

Im currently keeping my discus in a 7x2x2 with some cory`s and have already started reducing the number of malawi tanks im running and changing some over !

Ive also been buying books like mad and reading everything i can lay my hands on!

Here`s some of what i have atm. (please correct me if my strains are wrong)

Snow white... (just got 3 of these)

Leopard...

Golden(dont know what strain this is ?)

Red Turk...

Marlboro...

White butterfly ?

Red melon ?

Sunset...

Blue diamond....

Also have a couple of LSS but they still camera shy.

Most of my discus are around the 8cm mark at the moment and have no adults, How many adults could i keep in a 7x2x2 comfortably ?

Thanks
    Craig

Smile Re: My new addiction ! Download Warning

Hi Scat/Craig: I would focus on two things right now...feed often (as much as they will eat in 5 minutes) and massive and frequent water change along with good siphoning of waste and leftovers. You need to put food in them, and keep the water as clean as possible...hard to do in a planted tank, but you can do it. Or you can transfer them into a barebottom for now, and grow them out, and then transfer them all back into this nice planted tank when they are fully grown. The only way to keep them growing and prevent stunting is clean water and lots of good high quality foods. Good luck! mike
    Last edited by mikel; 08-25-2008 at 11:09 AM. Reason: name change

Default Re: My new addiction ! Download Warning