ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Leaky bulkhead?

Registered Member

Default Leaky bulkhead?

I'm not really sure if I am using the correct terms. This is my first time dealing with a sump and overflow. I just recently bought a 150 gallon tank from craigslist and it has the option for an overflow. I filled the tank up to check for leaks and everything was good. Then I checked the overflow box and it was looking through the bulkheads. Do I need to gut the plumbing and start over or can I just replace the bulkheads. Where do I get bulkheads from? ahhh I'm nervous to try this sump idea....but I know its a great filtration system.

I have attached some pictures (cuz we all know pics help!) They are from my camera phone so they aren't very good. if you notice you can see the glistening of the water lol.

Thank you for any input given.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Registered Member

Default Re: Leaky bulkhead?

Hi,

Usually your leak with these is going to be the seal (gasket) between the bulkhead flange and the aquarium bottom (inside of the tank, not underneath). If you just loosen it up, (or take it out if the plumbing pipes weren't glued and allow it) clean the tank where the gasket touches, the gasket, and the bulkhead flange, put a thin layer of aquarium silicone on both sides of the gasket, and then hand tighten, let it dry. don't over tighten because it may force all of the silicone out and / or even distort the gasket because the silicone makes it quite slick.... anyways....after the silicone has setup.. usually over night... you'll be good to go.

Also...I see some body did the right thing by putting flow adjustment valves on the lines.... they are invaluable for getting the right balance with the filter sump / overflow / pump.

Mike
    Last edited by mikesmac; 02-21-2009 at 07:39 PM. Reason: more specifics added

Registered Member