AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Mature 90G planted tank...

Registered Member theblondskeleton's Avatar

Default Mature 90G planted tank...

I tend to be a bit long-winded so bear with me...

Admittedly, I'm a noob to discus. I have created a very stable and healthy planted tank to which I would like to add discus. Here are my tank specs as of now:

Gear:
    90 Gallon AGA
    XP3 filter
    Pressurized CO2 with in-line reactor, pH controlled at 6.2
    18W UV filter active 12hrs/day
    300W Marineland Stealth Heater
    324W T5HO Light (don't freak out! The lights are only on full for 3 hours a day)
    PPS method fertilization

Flora:
    Pogostemon Stellatus 'broad leaf'
    Hemianthus Callatrichoides
    Cryptocoryne wendtii 'red'
    Limnophila Aromatica
    Blyxa aubertii
    Blyxa japonica
    Hemianthus Micranthemoides

Current Fauna:
    17 Harlequin Rasboras
    3 German Blue Rams
    1 BN plec
    1 Farlowella Acus
    6-8 otocinclus
    4-6 White Cloud Minnows
    4 dwarf gouramis
    2 veiled angels

Now, I'm in no rush. The tank is mature, stable, and healthy, and isn't going anywhere anytime soon. Most discus enthusiasts appear to be focused on raising the fastest-growing, most attractive fish, while the environment they are kept in is sterile and barren of any decor (as it is the method to achieving their stated goal). Of course, I am also devoted to keeping my fish healthy - there is no question of that. But, I also want to maintain a balance between my plants (which I work very hard to maintain) and the discus I wish to keep.

Granted: a tall order. However, I have exquisite patience, dedication, and this is really my only hobby - so I don't mind working a bit to make it happen.

Here's the plan: