ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Does anyone use Seachem's Purigen?

Default Does anyone use Seachem's Purigen?

I've been reading that Seachem's product Purigen is better than using an ozone system with a fractionator/protein skimmer in fresh water applications. If you use Seachem's product Purigen with your filter, would you please share your experience in how you use it? Does this impact or remove the need for a biological fitler? What are the Pros and Cons in using it?

This product seems to good to be true, so I have to wonder if it is true or NOT.

Thanks in advance for your help!
    Last edited by David Rose; 12-17-2009 at 11:05 AM.

Default Re: Does anyone use Seachem's Purigen?

I've been using Purigen for past 3-4 months. I think it worked well for me as my Nitrate are always < 10ppm and I've to re-charge it every week. Ammonia =0, and Nitrite = 0. Even if I missed the WC a day or 2 my water parameter still the same.

My setup: I had a 55 gallons tank with 14 3-4" juvies (grow from 2"). with one Hydro V sponge filter and one emperor 350 HOB filter. I put the 100g purigen bag in the HOB. I feed about 4-5 times of BH, and 2 times pellets a day, and do 30%-50% WC every day.

I'm moving my discus to a 130 gallons tank tomorrow. and will continue to to use the purigen just to have extra security.

Tony

Quote Originally Posted by David Rose View Post
    I've been reading that Seachem's product Purigen is better than using an ozone system with a fractionator/protein skimmer in fresh water applications. If you use Seachem's product Purigen with your filter, would you please share your experience in how you use it? Does this impact or remove the need for a biological fitler? What are the Pros and Cons in using it?

This product seems to good to be true, so I have to wonder if it is true or NOT.

Thanks in advance for your help!
    Hi,