ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Help 92 gal Tank Sump

Registered Member underwaterforest's Avatar

Default Help 92 gal Tank Sump

I just purchased a used 92 gallon corner tank and when I picked it up I found that it had been drilled for a sump. I have never used a sump before and was wondering if using a sump with discus would be good or should I just plug it up and use a canister filter? I have looked all around the net for designs for sumps and it appears people use everything from old rubber maids to expensive pre made jobbies. What route would you recommend? I have lots of fabrication knowledge/tools so a DIY sump would be fine, but I can bite the bullet and buy a premade one if it is really good. My main purpose for the sump would be a very large bio filter/ possible refugium (with plants) if needed. What Ya Think?

Last edited by underwaterforest; 01-22-2010 at 09:33 PM.
    Alex 92 Gallon Discus Corner Tank, 55 gallon Discus Grow Up Tank, 20 gallon Shrimp/Plant Tank, 36 Gallon Corner Planted/Fish Tank, 29 Gallon Breeding Tank

Default Re: Help 92 gal Tank Sump

Are you gonna use this as a display tank? If so, I'd just build a sump for it. I don't have any recommendations for one but I'd see what others have done and build it. I like DIY projects and sump would be pretty cool. Somebody posted some pictures of a DIY sump in the planted tank section, and it looked pretty nifty. I'd do some searching around and see what design you want to build off of.

http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?t=76660

Eddie
    Visit Eddie's Place

"If you ask for an opinion...don't get pissed when I give you mine."