ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How long have you been without power?

Registered Member

Default How long have you been without power?

What is the longest period you have been without power?

We just lost power for the first time since I had my Discus aquarium for about an hour and it got me thinking - what if?

Any idea how long we can go before trouble really kicks in?

Default Re: How long have you been without power?

Don't fret, pull your media out of the filters/tanks. Just let them to the open air until the power goes back on. The bacteria will stay alive, rather then being suffocated from lack of o2.

Eddie
    Visit Eddie's Place

"If you ask for an opinion...don't get pissed when I give you mine."

SimplyDiscus Sponsor and MVP Nov.2015 Disgirl's Avatar

I have lots of experience with loss of power and aquariums! Eddie's right, and also I never feed fish until power goes back on, even if it is several days. I live in hurricane country, believe me, I know power outages! Have never lost a single fish to no power as long as I have been careful with the tanks. But a good battery powered air pump/s are good to have on hand. They can power sponge filters great!
    Barb

Delightful Designs Discus Cones by Barb -- Check out my Sponsor section --HERE--!

Registered Member

Hello,
    Without oxygen in the water, your Discus WILL die. Be prepare to have a good battery air pump.
    I 've lost so many Discus due to this negligence.

HTH,
    Perry

I have only lost power a few times but a friend up in Seattle lost power for a week and lost all his Discus. So I went and purchased a Tripp Lite Power Inverter, 3000 watts and 2 Optima Yellow top gel batteries. That unit will run my 2 large Air pumps for quite a while.