ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Quarantine tank size

Registered Member

Default Quarantine tank size

Hi,

I'm new to discus, and I'm trying to do as much research as possible before actually taking the plunge. My eventual plan at this point is to have 6-8 discus in a 120 gallon tank, so I'm looking at getting 8 juvenile discus.

What size quarantine tank is necessary, assuming I'm doing a 4-6 week quarantine and am doing regular water changes? Everything I've read recommends 10 gallons per adult discus, but I don't know if that number applies to juveniles, as well. I'd rather not purchase a 60+ gallon tank/filter/heater that I only use for the initial quarantine.

Also, would it be reasonable to get the discus in two batches of 4, instead of all at once, in order to decrease the size of the quarantine tank? Or would the 6-week difference in age cause problems when I add the second batch?

Thanks in advance!

Default Re: Quarantine tank size

I'd get them all at the same time. Depending on their size (3" or greater), you could get away with a 40 breeder or 55 gallon for QT. If you get 8 that are small, around 2 inches, a 29 would work for QT.

Eddie
    Visit Eddie's Place

"If you ask for an opinion...don't get pissed when I give you mine."

Quote Originally Posted by Eddie View Post
    I'd get them all at the same time. Depending on their size (3" or greater), you could get away with a 40 breeder or 55 gallon for QT. If you get 8 that are small, around 2 inches, a 29 would work for QT.

Eddie
    What he said! I def think 40 breeder or 55g are the best sized for Qt
    When science and magic collide, the story begins.

Do you have that 120g tank running, with fish already? If not, and it's a brand new one, you could just do a fishless cycle, buy your discus and put them in there. That will be your QT tank.

If it's not setup, but it held other fish before, you could remove everything, bleach it, then do a fishless cycle and add discus.