AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Question: Aggressive behavior by an alpha juvie !

Default Question: Aggressive behavior by an alpha juvie !

Hi All,
    I'm new to simplydiscus & hope someone can help !

Am maintaining 6 juvenile discus in a 55 gal. growout tank.
    Fish sizes are 2.75" to approx. 4.0"
    The largest one has grown more quickly than the others & has recently taken to bullying all of the others incessantly - throughout the tank - except @ feeding times, when he is too busy feeding his own face to bother the others.
    (This does not appear in any way to be "territorial" - cause it's the whole tank.)
    While there doesn't appear to be any serious damage being done, it's no doubt quite stressful to the others, who do have to "hide out" from time to time, to get some respite from the constant barrage.

I know that, while this type of behavior is quite normal for discus, this fish's pecking order antics seem to have gone beyond the norm, and is very irritating for me, as well as for the other juvies.
    Anyone have any suggestions on altering this behavior ?
    I have been informed that permanent removal of the bully will likely just result in another taking his/her place in the pecking order, although it may not be quite as bad as this.
    Temporary removal for a period of time may be another option, but I'm told on fairly good authority, I believe, that this seldom works, if the situation is serious. Besides, I don't have another spare tank to accomplish this.
    I could return the fish to the seller & exchange, but that may be just going from one problem to another similar problem, as in the first comment above.
    I really don't want to consider a tank divider, as it is a planted "show" tank,
    and I don't wish to spoil the overall appearance.
    Any thoughts for me ?
    discuspaul

Registered Member Discus master's Avatar

Default Re: Question: Aggressive behavior by an alpha juvie !