AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Putting in a bulkhead ?

Default Putting in a bulkhead ?

Ok, I've never done this one before & I don't want any leaks...not going to use it right away, so have to cap it off....it came with only one rubber gasket..which side does the gasket go on, inside tank or outside?? Also, should I use any silicone around the opening, or plumbers tape?....is there a special piece for the inside PVC? .... & what do y'all do? TIA...

Dottie
    TODAY IS THE FIRST DAY OF THE REST OF YOUR LIFE!!!!

PROUD TO BE A FOUNDING MEMBER OF NADA! MAY WE CONTINUE TO PROSPER!

Default Re: Putting in a bulkhead ?

Quote Originally Posted by korbi_doc View Post
    Ok, I've never done this one before & I don't want any leaks...not going to use it right away, so have to cap it off....it came with only one rubber gasket..which side does the gasket go on, inside tank or outside?? Also, should I use any silicone around the opening, or plumbers tape?....is there a special piece for the inside PVC? .... & what do y'all do? TIA...

Dottie
    Rubber gasket goes inside and the nut should be outside. No need in using silicone or plumber tape unless the gasket it bad or something. Tighten the nut good and snug don't over tighten or you can smash the gasket out.
    My wife names my fish

Thanks Z!!

Dottie

Quote Originally Posted by ZX10R View Post
    Rubber gasket goes inside and the nut should be outside. No need in using silicone or plumber tape unless the gasket it bad or something. Tighten the nut good and snug don't over tighten or you can smash the gasket out.
    I've always put the gasket on the outside. The reason being the nut for tightening is on the outside. The tightening process will squeeze the gasket in place. Just hand tighten the nut and there is no need for anything else. I have done this on 20 tanks and none have leaked.
    HTH

Quote Originally Posted by Moon View Post