ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Nitrate filter

Registered Member

Default Nitrate filter

Hi,

I've been tumbling over the webpage above, when looking for a nitrate filter for my discus tank.

I am new at the hobby and I have to travel quite a bit a bit due to my job. When im home I end up making almost daily water changes of ca. 50% due to the fact that when I feed well nitrates jump to 40 every day.

When I am away I feed a lot less but really would like find an automated solution to take care of the water changes.

Looking at the website above looks like a very easy solution, however since I have never Everett seen anybody here ref ere to nitrate filters I wanted to check if nitrate filteers are a good idea, work etc.

So in short:

1. Can we use nitrate filters to remove nitrate and thus reduce water changes, I.e. To once a week
    2. Which is the best nitrate filter to use

Thanks, I am looking forward to ur input

Registered Member

Default Re: Nitrate filter

I am not allowed to post links but the product name was:

aquaripure

If u put 3 w in front and a dot com behind it u will find the website.

hmmm, this is interesting..I wonder if this allows for a tank to be heavily stocked, while still keeping water pristine?
    Jennie,

Quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten

Registered Member

My primary concern is to reduce WC, I'm assuming this could also mean more fish per gallon, as your water would have 0 nitrate all the time.

Question is does this thing work, and why have we never been told about it.