pic of month     Aquatic foods

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Hydro sponge filter

  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Elk Grove, CA
    Posts
    98
    iTrader
    0

    Default Hydro sponge filter

    I am thinking to buy two hydro sponge filter for my 58 gallon tank. However,there are 5 different size but I am not sure which size (#1-5) is the best to my tank? I am thinking two #3 OR two #5 for my tank. Is two #3 sufficient enough? Is it bigger of the sponge is better? Which model will u choose? Thank you for your input in advice.

  2. #2
    Homesteader Bud Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,529
    iTrader
    1 (100%)
    Real Name
    Bud Smith

    Default Re: Hydro sponge filter

    I have a 75 gal. tank and I use one #4 hydro sponge with ac110 and I have no problems with 7 adult discus
    Bud

  3. #3
    Registered Member DiscusBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    2,205
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Mauro

    Default Re: Hydro sponge filter

    The bigger the sponge filter, the better, more room for the beneficial bacteria to colonize. I personally donīt like how big sponges look, so I put two Hydro sponges III (instead of the larger V) in my 80g tank. You can see them in the video of my tank when it was cycling:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YTXDA...eature=related

    Whatever the size, two sponge filters will not provide enough filtration for your 58g, unless you do daily 80% or more water changes. You might consider a bigger tank and adding a canister filter.
    75g with 6 wild Cuipeua discus

  4. #4
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Elk Grove, CA
    Posts
    98
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Hydro sponge filter

    Sorry, forgot to mention that I have a HOB filter rated 350 GPH running with two sponge filters. I hope that provide enough filtration.

  5. #5
    Registered Member cjr8420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    bolingbrook il
    Posts
    756
    iTrader
    2 (100%)

    Default Re: Hydro sponge filter

    get 2 of the big sponges always better to have more than what is rated then if u get a bigger or another tank u are still good.u can double stack them to so they take up less space if thats an issue or only have 1 air line
    mike
    37gal comm
    55 discus growout
    75 african cics

  6. #6
    Registered Member strawberryblonde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Mountain Home, Idaho
    Posts
    2,982
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Hydro sponge filter

    I used 2 hydro 4 sponges on my 54g along with a canister filter. I stacked the sponges and they worked perfectly.
    Toni

    120g - 10
    discus, 4 cory's, 50+ Cardinals for now... give it a month and it'll change!

  7. #7
    Registered Member Skip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Austin, America
    Posts
    11,858
    iTrader
    7 (100%)

    Default Re: Hydro sponge filter

    yes!! just get the largest.. incase you want to upgrade your tank later.. sponges will be seeded!
    Jester - S0S Crew Texas

  8. #8
    Registered Member Jandiscus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Midland Michigan
    Posts
    73
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Hydro sponge filter

    Quick question on how to stack hydrosponges. Do I need to do anything other than putting the two sponges on top of each other? Only attach the air tube and lift tube at the top, but not having an air tube connecting the bulls eye of the lower with the one on top.

    Thanks for your help.

    Jan

  9. #9
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    116
    iTrader
    2 (100%)
    Real Name
    Lucas Smith

    Default Re: Hydro sponge filter

    I believe you want air all the way to the bottom of the stack. That way the lift is pulling through the whole stack.

  10. #10
    Moderator Team Adam S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    494
    iTrader
    4 (100%)

    Default Re: Hydro sponge filter

    If you want to ditch the middle bullseye and rib/cage looking things, you can cut an 8" section of 1" sch 40 PVC and drill a bunch of holes in the middle. Sch 40 1" PVC will fit the bullseye and other male parts of ATI sponges.

  11. #11
    Registered Member Jandiscus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Midland Michigan
    Posts
    73
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Hydro sponge filter

    Thank you!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

pic of month             AquaticSuppliers.com