AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New LED lights

Default New LED lights

I have been looking for an affordable way to grow plants in my tank with out using florescent or dealing with big al's. I Used 100 watt comparable energy efficient light that twists I forget the name so please excuse me. lol

I have been using them for about 2 years and get the same growth as the regular hood lights. Now the light that I just bought because I have a store credit at a local lighting shop is an northern star LED lamp PAR38 model 80462 12W 120V FL/NFL. Now there not yellow there a cool white and the guy at the store said there about 5000+ kelvin and 900 lumen, not 100% sure which one. My question is, will these lights work? Or did i just waste 80$? LOL
    Last edited by architect1; 12-22-2011 at 10:06 PM.

Default Re: New LED lights

Par 38 is what reefers use for corals..
    Jester - S0S Crew Texas

OH no, that's not a good thing is it? heres a pic and the web site. http://www.awlight.com/product.asp?p...ducts&id=bu702
    Attached Images Attached Images

If its good for corals.. It will be fine for plants.. U may need to play with distance off surface.. Remember it has a narrow beam of light
    Jester - S0S Crew Texas

Oh ok thats not so scary yeah I bought 1 to see before I bought the other 2 Its for a 100g tall and I have it a 1 foot or a foot and a half off the top of the glass.

Now what kind of growth would i see? is it a good light? Have you used them?

Some experts have said that LED is good for plants others have said it is not. I think the jury is still out on long term use of LED with plants since it is relatively new to the market.

Let us know how it goes if you buy it.

If corals are animals and plants are well, plants; I wonder how what is good for one is good enough for the other in terms of wavelength? I heard actinic is not good for plant photosynthesis.
    OC