ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Networking

Default Networking

Hello friends,

I just recently found out I was losing my job after 26 years and one thing I kept reading on job recruiting is "networking" and "word of mouth" type connections. So hopefully this is appropriate for the section of the forum.

I am an Export Warehouse Manager in northern Illinois area. I work for a plastic/steel strapping business.

This might be where we can share contact information from members as it seems like this forum as a "huge" following. And since only a handful of you are doing fish raising full time, I figure the rest of you have full or part time jobs.

So, if anyone feels they want to start a networking group, let me start by offering my contact information IF approved by AL to post here.

Jeff
    DiscusLoverJeff

Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated.
    Confucius

Default Re: Networking

Very sorry about your job situation Jeff. As for professional networking, if you havne't been on LinkedIn, I recommend that you sign up for an account. Find someone you know on LinkedIn in your area and in your profession and start building your network. You can also learn about job openings and it could be a helpful tool for your job search. Good luck. I am in a completely different line of work and I live in DC area so, I may not be very helpful in your job search, but if you request to be my connection, I will accept. Best wishes!

http://www.linkedin.com/home

Yun-

- 265G Wild Discus Community
    - 90G African Cichlids
    - 56G Reef
    - 20G, 20G, 29G Community
    - 20G, 26G, 36G empty

Thanks Yun,

I am already signed up with them and many other websites.
    DiscusLoverJeff

Confucius

Administrator and MVP Dec.2015 Second Hand Pat's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat

Really sorry Jeff, crossing fingers that something pans out for you.
    Your discus are talking to you....are you listening

Registered Member