AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: white spot on fin

Registered Member

Default white spot on fin

DISEASE QUESTIONNAIRE

Problem

1. Please explain the problems with your fish/when and how they started

Noticed white spot on tail fin today.. it was not there yesterday.

2. Symptoms (i.e. turning dark, excess slime, not eating, clamped fins, flashing, darting, clamped gills, white/yellow/green poop, hiding, headstanding or tailstanding, white on tips of fins, rotting or fungus, blisters/ white zits on fish, bloated, cloudy eyes, wounds)

Photo of white dot attached. I hope it shows up, I compressed it too much maybe and the camera is old and the tank is scratched up a bit. This is my first attempt at posting a pic here

sick2.jpg

3. What medications/ treatments that you have already tried and results. Include dosages and duration of treatment.
    None. Waiting for advice... everyone is getting and showing color finally (I purchased them about a week back) and I want to hit this right the first time.

Tank/Water

4. Tank size and age, number and size of fish

46 Gallon bowfront, tank is 8 yrs old and filter is established for 3 years at least.
    Six 2 1/2" - 3 1/2" Discus, no other fish.

5. Water change regime/ how long has tank been running/ bare bottom or gravel/ do you age your water?
    I age water overnight w/ aeration and heat to 86f. I do 50% -60% wc daily on bare bottom. I did recently (3 days back) put in a fake hollow tree stump and some Roman columns for structure, which helped the bullied one get its color I think based on constant observation... not much better to watch around here lol. This "structure" probably needs to be replaced with driftwood, but I need to find and prepare some at the lake nearby... planning on starting that project later today.

6 Parameters and water source;