ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ideal LED setup for a wilds tank

Real Name
    Mauro

Default Ideal LED setup for a wilds tank

Hi folks,

I have a 80g tank with 7 wild Cuipeua discus, shown in other threads. Here is a pic of the tank:

As you can see, the tank is lightly planted with few "hardy" plants, especially Anubias. I would like to ask your help with lighting. The tank has an Aquaticlife fixture with a single 54w T5 HO 6,000K lamp. It turns out that a single T5 lamp is too much for my wilds, who tend to hide when lights are on and come out when lights are off. I tried floating plants, but frozen dried blackworms were getting stuck in the plants and I gave up on them. I am considering a getting a LED setup, but I have no experience with LEDs. What would be an ideal low-light LED setup that would still allow me to keep the plants? Any help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Default Re: Ideal LED setup for a wilds tank

For my old wilds, I used the Marineland double bright LED system. They where all very peaceful with the lighting more in the whiter color rather than a gold/sunlight you find in the natural blackwater areas of wilds. As far as keeping plants, I don't know how it would perform. They claim to be reef ready as far as keeping photosynthetic animals...

Andrew
    Livin LIfe

Marineland has singe bright, double bright and reef capable LEDs. I've wondered about how well they work lighting up big, deep tanks, I was considering them as an option on my 220. I have a small one on one of my smaller tanks. I've liked it, but half of the blue lights stopped working suddenly so I'm a bit disappointed.

Mauro, this might be a good place to start: http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/li...ompendium.html
    -Luke

65gal RR w/ 20 gal sump, 6 Curipera X's from Kenny!

Love the background! Is it some sort of slimline that fits inside the aquarium? Beautiful set-up!
    Fran