AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: Home away from Home.

Default Home away from Home.

My name is Adam, and this is my Homestead here on Simply Discus. I started this homestead mostly to help support Al, the owner of the forum - who puts up with sooo much from the folks here. I suppose it's a double edged sword - there are great people here and I've met several of them, then there are some not so great people if one is to judge by the personality that comes out in their posts. I suppose you get a little of both in the world - and that's just the way it is here.

So a little about me: I've been keeping some type of fish off and on for over 25 years. I've had only freshwater tanks, mostly cichlids but I did keep a nice community tank for a few years while I was in grad school and my kids were young enough to enjoy it. I had oscars for quite a while when we lived in Kentucky - and a 10 gallon goldfish tank in my oldest sons room (he never knew they were feeder goldfish, he was just happy to go get new fish every now and then - he was pretty young then!).

Years later, after having sold off everything, my three sons bought me a 29Gallon setup for Father's Day. I was on a motorcycle trip at the time with my wife so my middle son sent me a picture of the setup that the other two had done at home - you're probably going to think this is cute - but this was done by a 18 and a 21 year old...

photo2.jpg

I thought I would do a nice tank of African Cichlids since my well water was fairly hard up here in the Granite State of New Hampshire. I had read extensively on Discus years before and had the common perception that they were really hard to take care of and that they absolutely needed soft, acidic water.