Dennis Discus     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 43

Thread: Cycling with Pure Aquarium and Pure Pond Balls

  1. #1
    Registered Member chaoslite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Van Nuys, CA.
    Posts
    2,079
    iTrader
    24 (100%)

    Default Cycling with Pure Aquarium and Pure Pond Balls

    I promised Bill I would do this for him, but I am a little behind schedule due to not purchasing any new fish. I ended up needing to start another tank for my female Yellow Diamond because she is a fry eater. So I left the fry to the male and set up another tank yesterday. I am using a 50g acrylic tank with about 45 gallons of water.

    I sent this to Bill yesterday and e asked me to post it here.

    Aquarium ball test 1st day as to be expected I have started out with..
    On a sump. Most of the aquarium and pond balls are located in the sump. I have some pond balls in my sponge filter and rolling around in the tank with one or two aquarium balls.






    ph 7.6
    Ammonia 0
    Nitrates 0
    Nitrites 0

    This morning I had a problem with the system. My pump broke in the sump. So I am running a sponge filter alone until I purchase an adapter for another pump I have.

    Today's test

    Ammonia 0
    Nitrates 0
    Nitrites 0



    Sorry for the bad pictures but I left my camera at work all weekend and forgot to bring it home today.

    Mishka

  2. #2
    Registered Member chaoslite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Van Nuys, CA.
    Posts
    2,079
    iTrader
    24 (100%)

    Default Re: Cycling with Pure Aquarium and Pure Pond Balls

    So we have hit day three and the girls do not get long so I have had to separate them. As you can see the tank looks clear as clear. Well as clear as it can be in a scratched acrylic tank.


    I did not take a picture of the ph since it is the same at 7.6. If someone would like to see pictures of the ph let me know.

    I am doing a 50% water change daily and have about 15 Pure Pond balls and 5 Pure Aquarium balls in the sump and tank.

    Temp 84

    Ammonia is 0


    Nitrites 0


    And here is the surprise
    Nitrates 2 ppm


    Mishka

  3. #3
    Registered Member nwehrman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,157
    iTrader
    4 (100%)

    Default

    Nice...so three days and you have some fully cycled bacteria in there...


    Nicole

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    SOS Crew Texas
    Show Committee for NADA 2014 AUSTIN TX

  4. #4
    Registered Member Oscarsx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    476
    iTrader
    0

    Default

    Very cool

    - oz

  5. #5
    Registered Member chaoslite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Van Nuys, CA.
    Posts
    2,079
    iTrader
    24 (100%)

    Default Re: Cycling with Pure Aquarium and Pure Pond Balls

    Weird but it seems that way. I will test again in the morning. I tested it three times tonight and it is the same.

    Mishka

  6. #6
    Registered Member Inland Empire Discus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Rialto, CA
    Posts
    1,103
    iTrader
    59 (100%)

    Default Re: Cycling with Pure Aquarium and Pure Pond Balls

    How many pond or aquarium balls did you use?
    Bill

  7. #7
    Registered Member chaoslite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Van Nuys, CA.
    Posts
    2,079
    iTrader
    24 (100%)

    Default Re: Cycling with Pure Aquarium and Pure Pond Balls

    Well I have 5 pond balls in the sponge filter, 2 pure aquarium balls and 4 pond in the actual tank, ( counting as I write this) and in the sump I have 3 Aquarium balls and 9 pond balls in the sump. So in total 23. I missed the aquarium ones in the sump. You can barely see them. I think I will go for the cone feeder from now in in the tank because the balls attach to fish waste.

    Mishka

  8. #8
    Registered Member chaoslite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Van Nuys, CA.
    Posts
    2,079
    iTrader
    24 (100%)

    Default Re: Cycling with Pure Aquarium and Pure Pond Balls

    Ok so this morning I took another reading of my nitrates and they did not change.






    It is not 0 and it is not 5

    I will run a full test tonight.

    Mishka

  9. #9
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,878
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Cycling with Pure Aquarium and Pure Pond Balls

    I do not understand this thread. Do these "Aquarium balls" have BB? Did the water or filters come from a cycled tank? If you start a new tank you can have all zero readings to start because there was no fish waste in the tank, nothing for BB to eat. All tests should be zero unless there was ammonia, nitrites or nitrates in the water you filled the tank with. I guess I am missing something.

  10. #10
    Registered Member chaoslite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Van Nuys, CA.
    Posts
    2,079
    iTrader
    24 (100%)

    Default Re: Cycling with Pure Aquarium and Pure Pond Balls

    Eilliots I am doing exactly what the titles says. I am cycling the tank with the aquarium balls, pond balls and fish. I started off with a 0 reading as you see above. On the third day I had no ammonia, but I have nitrates. Yes the Aquarium and Pond balls have bacteria in them.

    You can read it on the first post of the thread below. (Editing: Bill as been kind enough to provide pictures of the label on the container. If you read it you will see what is in it.)

    http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showth...cteria-is-here.

    Mishka

  11. #11
    Registered Member Oscarsx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    476
    iTrader
    0

    Default

    I've been using these balls on my tanks also and I'm getting the same readings on my api kit.

    - oz

  12. #12
    Registered Member chaoslite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Van Nuys, CA.
    Posts
    2,079
    iTrader
    24 (100%)

    Default Re: Cycling with Pure Aquarium and Pure Pond Balls

    They totally work. I cycled a whole breeding system with them with no fish, but did not right down any of the numbers so I told Bill I would do it again. I am waiting for my new pump to arrive for my sump and then I will start all over. Already sterilized my K1 media and the tanks.

    Mishka

  13. #13
    Registered Member seanyuki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    B.C. Canada
    Posts
    4,076
    iTrader
    11 (100%)
    Real Name
    Francis

    Default Re: Cycling with Pure Aquarium and Pure Pond Balls

    What are those pond balls/aquarium balls use for ? cycling the tank......me starting a new tank ,massive water changes daily( 3 weeks) and minimal feedings and the beneficial bacteria will built up slowly.......my 2 cents.
    Grasshopper
    Francis

  14. #14
    Registered Member Oscarsx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    476
    iTrader
    0

    Default

    I purchased a bunch of fry from Bill last month including a package of aquarium balls.. I compulsively bought these fish with no set up, got home that night and set up one of my 10 gallons, used a good amount of aquarium balls.. A week later these fish are doing great and started to get a diatom bloom in my tank, I know that comes with newly established tanks. Did an api test and it seemed to be cycled, I am very pleased with the results. Will be using this from now on.

    - oz
    Last edited by Oscarsx; 10-03-2012 at 03:28 PM.

  15. #15
    Registered Member Oscarsx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    476
    iTrader
    0

    Default

    I also have a grow out thread on these fish. So far so good :-)

    - oz

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

pic of month             AquaticSuppliers.com