PDA

View Full Version : New to Discus, 30 gallon?

Thomas_L
11-10-2012, 01:26 AM
I've got a 30g aquarium (29.5" long x 12.5" out and 16" high)and I want happy healthy fish and I want to do it right. (So i came to a forum) I have about 2 years experience keeping fresh water fish (have a 15g planted tank and had a 10 gallon). Im just wonder what (if possible) combination of fish I could keep healthy in there and how many discus. From what I've read I am pretty sure it could be ok with a pair? Its got a small/med grade gravel with rock and fake plant decor and a 15w bar lamp.
I plan to buy more fake plants and add trimmings from my planted before setup.
Im not a complete moron and understand biological components to a fish tank but dont be afraid to give advise please! (I maybe be missing s
thanks for the time.
Also, discus breeders on Vancouver island?

tl;dr - Can discus be done in a 30 gallon aquarium? or should I do some thing else with it?

Dogvet06
11-10-2012, 01:47 AM
discus like to school so would be best to have a larger tank so u can have 5 or more. i would say minimum of 55 gallon tank. if u purchased some juvies u can use the 30 gal to grow them out a bit. there are lots of great stickies in the beginners threads on here that will help u out too. also if u are growing discus it will be harder with gravel and the fake plants. most grow out in a bare bottom tank due to the many water changes they need because they need to be fed so often. if u want adults then i wouldnt bother with the 30 gallon at all unless u get a group and a pair forms then u can use it as a breeder tank or sick tank

Trier20
11-10-2012, 03:29 AM