PDA

View Full Version : Advice on starting a discus tank

nquince79
11-14-2012, 10:13 AM
Ok so I have been keeping freshwater fish for 13 years now(I'm 15 now) and I might get a 60 gallon for Christmas and I love discus so I want to try. How would I got about doing that? I have heard so much different stuff I don't know what is true. I'm looking to get discus from Hans discus at about 2.5 or 3 inches can I put them in a planted tank for show or should I start BB? What should I feed them? Right now I have new life spectrum cichlid formula and ocean nutrition veggie flakes. I'm going to get frozen hikari bloodworms and possibly make beef heart food. How do I make that? Anything else I need or am forgetting to learn about discus? Any advice or help is appreciated. Why do they put discus in BB tanks wouldn't they look better in a planted tank?

Crystalwaters
11-14-2012, 10:25 AM
I would start here http://forum.simplydiscus.com/forumdisplay.php?48-Discus-Basics-for-Beginners and http://forum.simplydiscus.com/forumdisplay.php?33-Foods-and-Nutrition the stickies there will probably provide you with all the information you need:) Helped me out a lot. Best of luck with your future discus adventure!

camuth8
11-14-2012, 10:42 AM
Yep. The stickies are a beginner's friend. :)

Larry Grenier
11-14-2012, 12:24 PM
Wow, you started when you were 2; that may be a record!

nquince79
11-14-2012, 02:42 PM
I read the beginners guide to discus on here. Very informative I learned a lot. I still how 2 questions. Why is I recommended to do a BB tank won't they look better in a planted one? And are 2.5 to 3 inch fish still juvies? What should I feed them and how often? And how often should I do WCs.

nquince79
11-14-2012, 02:43 PM
Yea I did my first fish was a black moor.

Dogvet06
11-14-2012, 02:49 PM