PDA

View Full Version : The Plan

horseplay
12-06-2012, 10:24 PM
Hi,

I am a complete newbie when it comes to discus but I have been keeping freshwater cichlids for a few years now. Current I am keeping two variants of African Tropheus and one SA tank with Uarus, Geophagus and Angelfish. I have been lurking for a while on this great site. Thanks for all the great posts.

The plan is to get 12 discus juvies and grow them out in a 40g tank then moving on to maybe a 90 for about 1 yr to get them to full adult size. Then hopefully I will end up with 2 or 3 breeding pairs with the rest going into the aforementioned large SA tank. Here are my questions

1. My water coming out of the tap is 6.8 PH. So the water has been changing. After sitting for 24 hours there is no change in PH. Water is coming from a reservoir and very soft. I am getting a TDS meter as well. Do I need to age water? (A few months ago I remember the water coming out of the tap was 7.6 so I am kind of surprise after the new measurement. Given the fact that the water supply maybe changing, do you recommend aging then measure PH every WC?)

2. I plan to buy 3 different color variants and would like to end up with pairs of the same variant. Is this even possible or do you have to separate them earlier before they reach maturity for this to happen. How strong is the pair bonds between discus? What's the chance of pairs forming within 4 discus of the same variants or am I better off with 2 variants of 6 each?

3. Is it a good idea to breed discus from the same breeder?

4. Will the adult discus be happy with the tankmate of the aforementioned large SA tank?

Looking forward to your replies.

Eddie
12-07-2012, 08:41 AM
I recommend aging water no matter the source. I know people who age RO water. If your water changes ph a lot, you might think about going with RO and reconstituting with minerals to make it a constant.