PDA

View Full Version : Wondering if I have the proper filtration.

hillbillyamber
12-20-2012, 07:12 PM
I inherited a Eheim Professional 2 canister filter with the 180 gallon tank I got. I was planning on sponge filters. I had some older heaters that seem to only be able keep the tank at 82 degrees and no warmer, so my questions are...
a. What is the best for my tank? Still trying to figure out what I am doing size wise for my discus.
b. What will go best for filtration with sand driftwood and eventually a few live plants?
c. Can I use carbon or not? I have never used a canister filter before. How many sponge filters will I need?
d. How many heater and what wattage would you recommend? Thanks in advance.
Also It looks as though I am going to get a free tank soon. Not sure of the dimensions, but at least a 55 gallon. any impute is welcomed.

discuspaul
12-20-2012, 07:54 PM
Filtration is largely a matter of preference/choice for many discus-keepers. Not familiar with an Eheim Professional 2 canister but I would expect it would do a good job combined with a couple of sponge filters.

Your 180 gal tank could easily easily keep 16 to 20 large, near adult or adult discus, but would perhaps be too large, unless divided, if you're planning on growing out young smaller discus.

For heating, I'd suggest getting 2 - 300 watt Eheim Jaeger calibrated heaters, with one backing up the other. They'll heat to over 90 F if need be.

No need to use carbon in a discus tank. You could use Purigen if you're looking looking for very good water clarity.
Hope this helps somewhat.

Eddie
12-20-2012, 08:39 PM
Filtration is largely a matter of preference/choice for many discus-keepers. Not familiar with an Eheim Professional 2 canister but I would expect it would do a good job combined with a couple of sponge filters.