PDA

View Full Version : Just a little bit of advice please :).

NickehStickeh
01-06-2013, 08:39 AM
Hi,
My name is Nic and I'm very new to SD.
I've read quite a few threads on SD and other Discus forums but I feel I just need a little bit of guidance.

I've been keeping fish for the last year at work but more intensely the last 6 months (I'm now the sole manager of the fish department (no official title or pay rise though :p)). I felt I learnt too quickly about the fish at work and needed more of a challenge. I steered away from your general Cichlid community tank e.g. Lake Malawi's etc. as a lot of people were saying they're very easy and to be honest, I ended up with discus because I needed somewhat of a challenge if I wanted to boost my knowledge in fish to the next level.

Unfortunately I rushed into it and lost a couple of Cardinals in the process of the 2nd wave of cycling (goldfish being the first but I should of let them cycle a lot more than I did)

I then waited some time before adding the discus, I believe 2-3 weeks later (once again wish I waited that bit longer). Even though I had done a mass amount of learning and researching I still missed some very vital steps to setting up my tank.

I currently have 3 5cm (2 1/2") discus and 1 slightly bigger 6-6.5cm (2 3/4") discus, 12 cardinal tetras, a small variety of corys and 4 bristle nose.

It's a gravel substrate with around 8-10 plants ranging from anubius, javas and amazon swords. I've tried keeping them alive with appropriate lighting, liquid fertilizer (seachem's flourish) but I'm currently slowly losing them as they're going brown on the ends and not really thriving. I'm in the midst of trying to upgrade my tank (which I'll leave bare bottom) to a 6 footer so I can get a couple more 5 or 7cms and watch and (hopefully) keep them until they're fully grown.