PDA

View Full Version : New in the forum and new to discus world

Gaber
01-14-2013, 04:52 PM
Hello everyone I'm Gaber from Egypt and this is my 1st post here in this great forum,
i am also new to discus world, i have a 900L or 238G tank with the size of 300cm x 50cm x 60cm (hight)
with two Ehiem heater 300w, one Ehiem external filter professional3 1200XL which is 1200 liter/hour, Ming external filter -china made cheap quality- 2400 liter/hour and two sponge filters plugged with air motor 1000 liter/hour
70 kilos of driftwood around 9 pieces
the bottom is black sand over old small stones gravel
the background is black
The PH level using Sera kit is between 6 & 7 looks like 6.4 for me -the tap water in egypt is in the PH range of 7-

i used to run american cichlid community in this tank for a year and then decided to move on to discus after reading and studying a lot about discus -your forum played a great role here in teaching me a lot- after selling the american cichlid in the tank i did a 70% water change and added the 2400 filter and the spongue filters specially for the discus cause i knew how sensitive they are and how they need good filtration and also good airing

i did a lot of cleaning and wc for 3 weeks and added water conditioner for reducing the stress before i got my 1st juveniles i got a group of 20 juveniles with the size of 2" -i will be posting some photos soon as they didn't adapt to the tank yet-
they have tank mates 10 siamese algae eaters, 3 albino bristlenose pleco 2 inch long

the temp in the tank now is 29c 84.2f
the tank got some plants but not heavily planted

i toke my time in adding them to the tank even more than i used to do with american cichlid i spent like 2 hours so they get the same temperature and get slowly introduced to the tank
right now they in the tank for 3 days and they are still so scared i tried to feed them once a little bit of Tropical D-ALLIO PLUS they didnt eat and the mates ate the food