PDA

View Full Version : BLACK BEARD ALGAE PLEASE HELP!

ABCGIO
01-16-2013, 06:07 AM
So I have been battling black beard algae for about 2-3 months now. It hasn't really gotten out of control because I have a small BN pleco and a 9-10inch pleco eating the stuff. I have had so many mixed recommendations on how to deal with it, all of which said to use flourish excel. I was first told to use it at the recommended dose but after 3 or so months, it hasn't really helped. Then I was told to use the initial dose every day which would be 9 caps per day and the algae would soon be gone but it clearly says DO NOT OVERDOSE. I really just want to find the balance and get rid of the algae naturally.

So I have a 90 gal tank with approx 160watts of light which makes just about 2wpg. I do not have a plant substrate yet (just gravel) and I stopped adding everything except excel. I used to have a DIY co2 system with 3 2Litre pop bottles but I was told to get rid of it as it would create fluctuating levels and i used to add tailored aquatics ferts once a week.

If you have any other questions please let me know. The best suggestion that kills the BBA wins 10,000 points.

MSD
01-16-2013, 07:21 AM
You haven't said what it is growing on, best way to get rid of it is scrubing it off any rocks it is on from what I've read. People have boiled and/or baked the rock too. Tough stuff.

joshvito
01-16-2013, 10:36 AM
You haven't said what it is growing on, best way to get rid of it is scrubing it off any rocks it is on from what I've read. People have boiled and/or baked the rock too. Tough stuff.

+1, the best way to get rid of it is manual removal. Scrub your hardscape, and trim the affected plants.
You can try spot treating (turn filters/pumps off and squirt with a eyedropper) with Hydrogen Peroxide, but you need to be careful, because too much will harm your plants.

Williamsonfisheries
01-16-2013, 10:55 AM