PDA

View Full Version : RO Water info needed

Tommy Saville
01-16-2013, 05:49 PM
I've been keeping Discus for 7 months, fairly successfully after several teething problems (!), Although I have a very long experience with tropical fishkeeping, I have never come across the need for RO water. I understand how it works, but there are some installation problems regarding fitting a unit and its pipeworks into my system. Info on that is easily obtained, and I'm thinking of installing one,but there are a few stupid questions. For example, is the RO treated water just used for water changes (I'm used to doing 50% of my 2 50 gallon tanks every 3 days, using water from which chlorine, nitrates and heavy metal ions have been filtered out). How much better than my filtered is RO water? If I decide to install it, will a unit produce enough daily for more frequent changes than I do now? Can RO water be pre-heated while stored for changes? Would I still need to do 50% changes as now, or if RO is a great deal better than what I have now would I decrease the proportion? I've seen the term "re-mix" - what's that all about?? And what's DI? So many questions to answer before I ditch my current water-filter system and spend the equivalent of $400 (I'm in UK) on an RO unit.......

discussmith
01-16-2013, 08:20 PM