PDA

View Full Version : PETCO Discus????

SejRamkas
02-19-2013, 02:00 PM
So I stopped by my local PETCO today because unfortunately they are the only place in town that gets discus of any kind in. I saw this guy in one of the tanks. He is about 3" head to tail. Let me just go ahead and clear the air before this post gets flamed with people grilling me on Petco. I know these are not good quality fish, and I know Petco doesn't give their fish proper care. I am still relatively new to the hobby (about 1 yr. with discus), and instead of making huge investments in top quality fish I would rather go this route and continue my learning experience until I have discus keeping down.

Questions:
-I see the fish has a general "football" shape, does this mean it's definitely stunted or is it too early to tell?

-Will the pattern that is missing in the rear section eventually fill in to match the rest of the checkerboard?

-Any definite warning signs you can see up front (other than it being from Petco obviously...)

This being said, the only reason I have even considered this fish is because it is only 25 dollars for a 3" pigeon and my selection is also very limited in AL.

Sandy Clay
02-19-2013, 02:10 PM
I would buy it! Of course I have only been keeping Discus for about 3 years and I am not trying to breed them etc... I just like them.

discuspaul
02-19-2013, 02:20 PM
It's not a bad-looking discus, but it's not particularly well-shaped, and it could be stunted.
That being said, it looks reasonably healthy, and for $25., you may want to take the chance and see how it turns out.

02-19-2013, 02:31 PM
I have seen much worse from local fish stores where they were kept with other fishes, and would prolly buy it just to keep it from getting sickly,abused.
Petco here,will order fish, and call when they arrive, so they can be picked up directly rather than acclimated to store tank's, and then your tank.Maybe your store would/could do this also?

ROOK45
02-19-2013, 02:33 PM