PDA

View Full Version : Florida Spawn Help

Sandz
02-23-2013, 06:47 PM
Hi ya'll. I am an aspiring discus breeder in Jacksonville Florida where we have liquid rock for water. I have been breeding discus for 4 years but that was in Portland, Or where the water quality was much better on a TDS and Hardness count. I had 5k gallons of tanks and bred everything from F1 appistogramma to our beloved Discus. I am wondering if there is anyone relatively local out there that can aid me as I set up my breeding tanks. I have 20, 20 gallon tanks that will house matching pairs as I grow my set up back. Additionally I have 5 5gal fry tanksand a few 29s-75gal tanks with the big "pairing" tank being 180 gallon. All will be bare bottom for sterilization.

Here is my approach to this project:
I am going to be buying approx 20 discus of 5 different strains in hopes of getting a pair of each strain. If anyone can find or help me out to get that feat accomplished please PM me. These will be spread amungst the large tanks I have listed above. After pairing, each will be in their own 20gallon perminant home. Filtration will be a central 55gal sump/refugium with heavy nitrate eating plants under 10k bulbs with a 10x/hr flow. Daily water changes are the plan for these tanks. Each will be heated individually and obviously the load will increase as more pairs form.

Any comments or input on this plan thus far?

Discus Origins
02-23-2013, 11:01 PM
Hi there and welcome to the forum fellow Floridian :) I'm in Ocala not too far from you, you have a great breeder and moderator in Larry 'jaykne' who is in the Jax area.