PDA

View Full Version : Dark discus... sometimes.

FlyTekk
02-25-2013, 07:28 PM
Hey i have 6 new 3" discus.

1 Fire Red
1 Brilliant Red
1 Brilliant turquiose
1 Santarem
1 Alenquer
1 Tefe

All but the Fire Red turn dark sometimes.... and then color back up. They all feed just fine. Havnt noticed anything on their skin or in their poop. The breeder that sold them to me tells me that maybe they color up in the light and darken in the shade for protection which is definately true but sometimes i see the dark in the light as well.

Is this normal at all? This is my first time with discus. Params are ph7 amonia 0 nitrites 0 nitrates 5.

-gb-
02-25-2013, 08:13 PM
I have a fish that turns dark when the other fish are chasing him around the tank and then brightens back up when he is left alone. I think it was to do with the mood there are in.

FlyTekk
02-25-2013, 08:17 PM
i was hoping that is what it is. They are sorda picking on each other. No one seems to be dominant. They are all getting pecked here and there. I thought maybe the darken color is due to this and maybe when the pecking order is set it will stop?

-gb-
02-25-2013, 10:56 PM
It should become less frequent as they settle in. My fish still turn dark at times and I've had them in my tank for 8+ years. It's only cause for concern if the fish turnes dark for an extended period of time or if it is immediately accompanied by other symptoms.

wavesurfer
02-25-2013, 10:58 PM
If your subtrates, deco and background are dark/black, the colour of your discus might have been affected by them too.

camuth8
02-25-2013, 11:15 PM
It's probably because you just got them, too. Discus can get stressed if they're introduced to a new place. Turning dark is just one way of them saying,"I'm stressed out, man!":)

FlyTekk
02-25-2013, 11:17 PM
barebottom, green artificial plants, and clear back glass.

Thanks gb hopefully its nothing and will pass!

camuth8
02-25-2013, 11:22 PM