PDA

View Full Version : Water Quality Questions

erikhendrix
02-26-2013, 12:17 PM
I know that water quality is very important in keeping and raising discus fish. Since I am new to keeping this type of fish, I am looking for some guidance in keeping them. This is how I have my tank set up. I have a 75 gallon tank with two canister filters on it. The filters are a Cascade 1500 and an aquatop cf500. I am running tons of aquachargers in them along with some course and fine pads to catch the debris. The tank itself has some pieces of driftwood to help naturally soften the water along with some artificial plants. There is a 200W heater keeping the temp at 84 degrees and a coral life light. I keep my Ph around 6.5 and religiously check my ammonia, nitrites and nitrates. The mainstay of my water I use in my tank is 33% city and 66 % R.O. I also use a water conditioner to remove any chlorine or other contaminates from the city water.

My biggest question is the frequency of water changes I need to do. I have had varying information given to me and I was wondering if this is a good rule of thumb to follow. Since my biological filtration should keep the ammonia and nitrites in check - is it okay to just do water changes when the nitrates get high? Assuming I keep an eye on the ammonia and nitrites as well?

I am planning on having 6 discus fish with no more than 8 cardinal tetras and 6 - 10 other smaller tank mates... Any help and guidance is appreciated.

John_Nicholson
02-26-2013, 12:31 PM