PDA

View Full Version : Fluorescent or LED?

vss
02-26-2013, 05:10 PM
I have been using fluorescent color max lighting all the time and would like to try something different. I've never used LED before. just wondering if the LED give a much better visual effect than using fluorescent bulbs on bare bottom tanks or not? Besides the energy efficiency, is there any other advantage of using LED? Thanks!

Xiaofei :)

yim11
02-26-2013, 05:19 PM
I am in the process of switching from flours to LED and its been a huge difference. Really like how the LEDS make the fish and tank look. All my tanks are bare bottom.

Fundulopanchax
02-26-2013, 05:33 PM
I have many fluorescents over tanks and over orchids - some 30 4-bulb T5HO units. These look great over fish and plants. I have now been converting to LEDs - over plants they look the same as theT5's - I use 6500k fluorescent and LED. look The LED's cost a small fraction of the cost of fluorescents to run, and nowadays arent very much more expensive so I find I am saving money within about 6 months of purchase. I find that LEDs over fish look much better than fluorescent - a large part of this is due to the localized sparkling effect. I have a 150 gallon tank that still has both its original T5's and I added the LEDs. Everyone who looks at it with the T5s vs LEDs chooses LEDs for looks hands down. If you go to tunable LEDs you can even change spectrum readily to match a given fish's coloration - I try to stay away from that as most people when they do this go to a much bluer spectrum which looks very artificial.

Ron

vss
02-26-2013, 05:52 PM
Thanks Jim and Ron! I found both 10000 K and 6500 K on ebay at the same good price. Which one would you guys recommend?

shawnhu
02-26-2013, 05:59 PM
Thanks Jim and Ron! I found both 10000 K and 6500 K on ebay at the same good price. Which one would you guys recommend?