PDA

View Full Version : Converting 120g Salt Water Tank to Discus Tank

Billy Vu
03-06-2013, 01:09 PM
Hi Simply Friends,

I recently purchased a 120g tank on craigslist over the weekend. This tank was used as a salt water setup prior and I wanted to convert this into a discus tank. I've been keeping discus for about 5 years now and familiar with the necessary conditions for them to thrive in terms of water quality, diet, etc.. The 120g tank has dual overflows and all the required plumbing. I spent the whole weekend cleaning it using a combination of bleech and warm water. I tried scrapping some of the red algae formatin on the overflows as best I can. Any advice/suggestions on converting this to making this a safe and suitable tank for discus? Is there a chemical or solution that I can use to get rid of the salt residue and algae in the plumbing system? Any and all feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Billy

nwehrman
03-06-2013, 01:18 PM
Vinegar - will take it all off - making it clean and shiny

DiscusLoverJeff
03-06-2013, 01:19 PM
Razorblade and vinager/water solution. Do the best you can do. I converted a 110 to a freshwater and scraped it as clean as possible. Filled it and cycled it while watching the water parameters for a week or two. It should be fine.

Pictures when filled with discus please, Lol.

a volar
03-06-2013, 01:21 PM
The red algae you mention is call Coralline Algae and it can be remove by soaking in vinegar, I'll recommend spraying all the inside tank, overflows and sump with a mix of 50% water and 50% vinegar several times then rinse and repeat if necessary.

dagray
03-06-2013, 01:39 PM
put newspaper soaked in white vinegar and cover with saran wrap. Keep newspaper wet with vinegar for a six hours. remove newspaper hit with razor blade, rinse and repeat if necessary.

Billy Vu
03-06-2013, 02:11 PM