PDA

View Full Version : Starting a new discus tank

volcano
03-19-2013, 02:36 PM
Hello, everyone. I am new to keeping freshwater fish of any kind. I have been trolling this forum and others gathering as much information as possible. My dad used to breed cichlids back in the 80's, and I maintained all the glass bottom tanks. This is the extent of my freshwater fish keeping. However, I have been keeping reef tanks for over 20 years and currently I am running 600 gallons of reef aquariums. I am very familiar with water chemistry, filtration, quarantine, etc. and feel Discus keeping should be an easy learning curve.

Recently, I picked up a 75 gallon corner tank that is reef ready and has everything to operate a fully functioning reef system. It's is drilled with a sump and has all the filtration I need. Obviously, I will remove the skimmer, but my goal is to run a discus tank in similar fashion to a reef tank. I want a live sump, for filtration. I can even hook up a spare UV sterilizer if need be.

I know most people recommend bare bottom tanks. However, this is going to be a display tank, and I feel it needs to be planted. I have read many horror stories of people running from the hobby because of a planted tank crash. I do not think that will be me, considering nothing has made me leave the reef hobby. Not to mention, I have an extensive background in Botanical science and hydroponics. I think discus will be very enjoyable to keep and I am not turning back now.