PDA

View Full Version : Tank Setup Questionnaire

Spawnstar
03-21-2013, 09:18 PM
Hi All,

I am a beginner and saw this sticky. I have numerous questions and thought this was the best way to get to answer some of them.

1) Please Introduce your self and tell us what your experience is with fishkeeping, give us as much information as possible as to how long in the hobby, what you have kept in the past and what you currently are working with.

When I was young (20 years ago) my father had fish and among these some Discus. I have been interested in getting back into it for a while. The more I read the more I realized things have moved on a lot in the last 20 years and I am no longer familiar enough with fishkeeping to just dive straight back into it. My goals are to eventually keep a tank (with subtrate and wood, but not necessarily plants) with a few large discus in a large tank. I am aiming to have a community tank with some other compatible fish (these appear to be tetra's and cory cats).

2) If you have no previous experience with keeping discus, have you done any research to properly prepare yourself, e.g. have you read any Stickies in this section of SimplyDiscus, or other material?

I have read up a decent amount but unfortunately have become confused with all the options out there and conflicting advice on various forums.

3) Describe your tank, its size and dimensions, breeding or display. Include how long it has been setup or if it is still being cycled.

I have not bought a tank yet but intend to get a 75 or 90 Gallon tank. I think that is a reasonable size to have around 10 adult discus and some smaller fish. I do not intend to breed but only to keep discus.

4) Describe the décor for the tank; type of substrate or bare bottom (BB), whether the tank will be planted or a biotope.