PDA

View Full Version : Preparing for my First Discus Tank

Garofalo79
03-30-2013, 10:42 AM
Hi all-

This is my first post and wanted to comment that this is an extremely helpful forum with a great deal of information-appreciate all of time people put into helping others and the hobby. I have been checking out the site for the past 2 months or so. I currently have a 55g African cichlid tank but am looking to getting into Discus. I am just starting my research and a lot of things are still up in the air but below is one of the schemes I have worked out and was hoping for any suggestions. Thanks!

1) 55 gallon glass tank
2) 6 discus (4-5.5 inch)
3) thin layer of substrate with driftwood but no plants
4) 3-D background from aquaterra
5) aquatop CF-500 canister filter
6) proper heating (to be determined)
7) Water changes 30% 3 times per week
8) Water change from directly faucet to tank via python or something similar
9) Tested municipal water from tap ph 7.4. Water after sitting for 36 hrs ph is 8.2.

The above is not an all inclusive plan but it does raise some initial questions on my end.

1) With a 3-D background, is 6 adult discuss too much for a 55g? Should I go with a 75g? Should I cut back to 4 discus?
2) Is it ok to add water for water changes directly from the faucet if I calibrate the temperature as close as possible?
3) The ph of my water tends to rise. Should i invest in a RO/DI system and/or barrel age the water?

Any and all help is appreciated, thanks in advance!

Dan

Wes
03-30-2013, 10:49 AM
RO not needed but ageing barrel yes since ph is rising almost a point. Depending on where in the country you live, direct from the faucet may stress your fish with winter water that we get up north. Remember to use prime or safe.

Poco
03-30-2013, 11:01 AM
Welcome to SD Dan!