PDA

View Full Version : What size tank...

Tarpon
04-04-2013, 11:57 AM
I am new to discus, I am still doing lots of research before I jump in. I would like to keep 4 or 5 discus in my tank, here are my questions:

What size tank would be the minimum size you would recommend?

What type of filtration?

Would probably only be able to do 2 possibly 3 water changes a week, straight from the tap as I do not have a place to age my water.

What heater would you recommend?

Anything that I am forgetting?

Mike

strawberryblonde
04-04-2013, 12:04 PM
It's best to start out with the minimum number of discus that you should keep together, and then figure out the tank size after that.

4 isn't good. 5 is better, but 6 is much better.

If you have room for a 75 gallon tank that would house 6 adults plus some bottom fish like cories, and some dither fish like cardinal or rummy nose tetras.

There is no perfect type of filtration. I like HOB's, sumps and sponge filters myself.

If you already know that you would most likely only do 2 water changes per week then plan to purchase adult discus for your tank. They can handle that schedule so long as you don't over feed them. Juvies and sub-adult won't do well with only 2-3 changes per week.

You can try going straight from the tap, that's how I do it, but before you do, please make sure that your pH doesn't shift dramatically in a 24 hour period.

Tarpon
04-04-2013, 12:19 PM
I currently have a 70 gallon Mbuna cichlid tank, I am running 2 cascade 1000 canister filters on it. I do 40 to 50% water changes 2 to 3 times a week on this tank and the fish love me for it...

Not sure if the wife is going to let me get another tank this large, and really don't want to move my cichlids...unless I got a 55 for my mbuna and used the 70 for the discus. Just a thought...

Mike

Elliots
04-04-2013, 12:28 PM