PDA

View Full Version : Albino discus is more or less blind?

helinova
04-18-2013, 12:51 PM
hello simplydiscus members,

i am from india.i keep discus from 2006,i follow this forum since then later i joined here.i am a simply hobbyist though.

naturally like other discus i also keep some albino discus.i observed that specially for juvenile albino discus,when they take food have a serious problem for taking it.whenever you give food i your tank they go for it but they look for here and there and if food is going inside mouth they will eat it.so are juvenile discus are blind at this stage,also i find that for adult albino discus this blindness is reduced.so my question is are they blind or so called photo phobic and their eyes are sensitive to lights?is there any reference document on this?i really wanna know about this.

-gb-
04-18-2013, 03:22 PM
From my experience yes albino discus can develop issues with blindness. I just euthanized my 8 year old albino discus last month because he could no longer find food.

I'm not sure about juveniles having issues. Maybe someone else can chime in on that front.

Discus Ranz
04-18-2013, 03:52 PM
From my experience yes albino discus can develop issues with blindness. I just euthanized my 8 year old albino discus last month because he could no longer find food.

I'm not sure about juveniles having issues. Maybe someone else can chime in on that front.

Just curious. How do you euthanize? I've done alot of things with fish, but thats one I quite havent figured out.

-gb-
04-18-2013, 04:01 PM
Here's a link to what I did: http://www.wisegeek.org/what-is-the-most-humane-way-to-euthanize-a-fish.htm

IMO it's the most humane way to go about a horrible task.

Discus Ranz
04-18-2013, 04:14 PM
Here's a link to what I did: http://www.wisegeek.org/what-is-the-most-humane-way-to-euthanize-a-fish.htm

IMO it's the most humane way to go about a horrible task.