PDA

View Full Version : Discus color development

prem
04-22-2013, 09:03 AM
Hi all
I am new to parenting discus. I love them more and more by the day. I have a few doubts that i need to clarify. I'm sure the gurus here can help me out. :-)

I have a two inch discus which looks pale white and turns maroon at times. I am not sure if it's turn to a natural color or is it the stress, because sometimes all the other fish are looking the same and this guy either turn pale white or red! Is it is it stress?
about the same guy and his batch. While the above is happening they get this black dots which actually brings out their un pretty look. I read a few articles and found out its peppering. This also happens randomly.

I do water changes once a day. Between 50-60% the tank is resting on Styrofoam - base is bare bottom.

Please advice the cause of the behaviour am I doing something wrong?

troysdiiscus
04-22-2013, 09:30 AM
Welcome to the forum prem. Sounds like you have some pigeon bloods, they will pepper when sub is dark and the enviroment is dark, alot though has to do with genetics but a clean light color is best for them. Juvies will not start showing there colors till they start growing into adults, stress will make them change. May want to fill out questionaire to get more information. Small Juvies in a grow out need alot of WC and feeding..
http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?38545-Disease-Questionnaire-please-complete

Discus Ranz
04-22-2013, 12:14 PM
I agree with troysdiiscus. They also change colors when feeding and working out their differences in the pecking order as well.

~Ranz~

prem
04-23-2013, 01:25 AM
Thanks guys,
I have attached an image of the guy i am referring to...
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-HM7LWKTa74k/UXYaT1v4gLI/AAAAAAAAGAs/qBEwyE0Qoeo/s545/20130421_185437_LLS.jpg
my cousin is saying that is a red melon, a little lost :)
anyways I feed them 3 times a day and water change once a day 50% - 55%