PDA

View Full Version : tips or tricks for breeding

penangeruption
05-22-2013, 10:41 PM
i recently purchased 2 breeding pairs from an Australian breeder. the fish are in great health arrived in separate bags and were clearly labled as pair 1 and 2. they were put in my 4 x 2 x 2 tank with a divider in the middle. there is gravel, a terracotta breeding cone and a sponge filter on either side.
water perimeters.
ph. 6,5
tds 140
gh 4
kh 2
temp 29-30

im new to keeping discus and would really love these guys to breed im feeding 4 - 5 times a day, mixture of beef heart, blood worms, and a commercial discus pellet. and im changing about 20% a day and even using rain water wherever possible.
the behaviour is weird between the discus. one in each tank seems to chase the other and even nip at it. im wondering if these are the right pairs and is this behaviour normal. they have been in the tank now for a couple of weeks, i have been using artificial lighting but it seemed to spook them so now im just using natural lighting.
i was considering covering the outside of the tank and even removing the gravel, hoping for ideas thanks guys.....

timmy82
05-23-2013, 05:59 AM
I would get rid of the substrate take out the divider and see who wants to be with who. Where in Aus are you? I'm in Townsville, I would also drop the temp a little around 28c I find works best a bit too warm and the spawns are smaller and normally end up eating them. TDS I try and keep under 100ppm. My water schedule my breeders get 3 - 4 small changes once a day in a row and left, I did use to continue with the small changes but found they wouldn't keep the eggs or the fry if I kept doing water so I leave them alone water wise for a week and then a few changes in a row. All pairs are different you just have to try different things.

penangeruption
05-23-2013, 06:31 AM