PDA

View Full Version : Unexpected aquarium landed in my lap today- complete newbie- please help

FeHope
06-30-2013, 06:12 AM
A tank with Discus landed in my lap today unexpectedly. I'm taking a deep breath right now and trying to read what I can on this site. I appreciate anyone with experience who might give me a triage list. I am afraid that, by the time I read something important, it will be too late. The situation is a little weird and I cannot go into details. Let's just say that apparently a judge in our small town thinks banishment is an appropriate punishment and I got called upon to pull this tank because the owner cannot take it with them. (I own a local pet supplies store that sells some fish supplies, but we do not sell fish. I know what the nitrogen cycle is and a few other things, but I don't even have a personal freshwater tank. I do, however, have a Ph.D. in chemistry- long story why I have the store- so I should be capable of learning the appropriate water chemistry quickly. I just have no aquarium experience and will not have good judgement on matters related to aquariums.) The alternative was the fish just get the death penalty. I thought that some chance of death, even a big one, was better than certain death. I do know that the fish were not taken care of while the owner was "away" for a short bit recently.

The aquarium is an established 90 gallon aquarium with 3-4 albino plecos, some cardinal tetras, and 2 Discus. The Discus, one in particular, did not appear to be in good shape (with my unqualified eye) when the whole thing started this evening, before the aquarium was messed with at all. This is a planted aquarium. I would say heavily planted. Since I don't know anything, maybe not . . . Gravel bottom. Seems to have a large number of snails in the gravel. Has a FX5 filter.