PDA

View Full Version : Tank Size Advice

Nu2Discus
07-12-2013, 05:58 PM
Hi everyone! I am looking for advice on tank size.

I went to a few LFS in the area and saw two tanks that are possibilities. One is a 180 gallon (72LX18WX32H) and the other is a 135 gallon (72LX18WX24H). My first thought was to get the 180 gallon tank, but then on second thought, I started imaging how much water I'd have to change. I'm not really sure what to think right now. I'd love to hear everyone's perspective on tank size, and which one you'd go for.

Thanks in advance.
Rob

musicmarn1
07-12-2013, 06:25 PM
i am an absolute beginner to discus, my first year ! all going great so far - however, i WISH i could find 180 g or even 135 near me been looking for months, without spending over $1000 from lfs a couple of towns over even, so i just have to say if you CAN get bigger and its affordable , do it, do it now !!!!!

WC - i hear ya, but honestly either of those sizes would be heaven :) so congrats in advance

Hi everyone! I am looking for advice on tank size.

I went to a few LFS in the area and saw two tanks that are possibilities. One is a 180 gallon (72LX18WX32H) and the other is a 135 gallon (72LX18WX24H). My first thought was to get the 180 gallon tank, but then on second thought, I started imaging how much water I'd have to change. I'm not really sure what to think right now. I'd love to hear everyone's perspective on tank size, and which one you'd go for.

Thanks in advance.
Rob

troysdiiscus
07-12-2013, 06:39 PM
WC will depend on your stock levels, I am guessing if your going larger tank you are going to put adults in 4.5 inch and bigger or thats what you need to put in it. With good filteration you should not have to do huge WC's. I would go with the 180, I like the height of it and you can get more discus!!:D Give alot of thought on filteration that will be key.. Get it established and cycled and have tons of fun setting it up, thats the best part!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good luck