PDA

View Full Version : Get Wood to Sink?

camuth8
07-14-2013, 06:13 PM
Hi everyone.
I just got some driftwood and have boiled them and are ready to put them in the tank but I can't seem to get them to sink. They're too big to put a rock onto also. Any ideas?:confused: I have a sand bottom.

Neal Gagen
07-14-2013, 06:42 PM
I'm no expert - I just joined the forum today!
After I bought wood (I think it was rosewood) I submerged it in an extra bathtub by placing barbells on top of it. I had to empty and refill the tub several times to get rid of the tannins in the wood, which by the way caused my bathtub to look like I was brewing ice tea (any idea how to clean my tub that USED to be white?!) Even after that, when I added it to the aquarium I had to place a stone on top of the wood to keep it from floating. After about a week - during which the wood released small little air bubbles - I was able to remove the stones. I hope this helps.

Elliots
07-14-2013, 06:56 PM
Try J&J Scrubbing Bubbles bathroom cleaner.

discuspaul
07-14-2013, 07:05 PM
Put it in a laundry tub/sink, or a bathtub, or large bucket, and soak it.... soak it.... soak it. It'll eventually get waterlogged & sink.
May take a few days, a week, 10 days, but it will sink in due course. While it's soaking, you'll get rid of the tannins too. Just change the water every day.

tonytheboss1
07-14-2013, 07:06 PM
:bandana: Try using fishing line & a large F/W rock or two. I could take several weeks or months for the wood to become water logged. "T"

Tazalanche
07-14-2013, 07:15 PM
could take several weeks or months for the wood to become water logged.+1

We bought two pieces of similar sized, same type (cyprus, I think), driftwood on the same day last November. One was waterlogged in a week, the other had to have a piece of slate rock screwed into it & has been staying underwater on it's own for about 6 weeks. Even now it is more buoyant than it should be.