PDA

View Full Version : New to discus, 70G Cube

Deaner
07-26-2013, 05:41 PM
Hey everyone,

Im new to the forum and have recently made the decision to setup my aquarium as a planted discus tank. In the past i had my tank setup as a reef but about 2 months ago there was a ice storm here that left us without power for four days. Due to this i lost everything in my tank and have been in a depressive state about the hobby since.

As my tank has sat empty for the past few months i have been toying with different ideas that i could use it for. I am totally new to keeping discus and havent done the freshwater thing in years. The tank I am using is a marineland 70G cube (30x30x18) with built in overflow. I will be running a sump underneath the tank, total water volume will be about 100G.

Id like to get some input on how many discus I could keep in this size of tank. I have been reading and it seems that this isn't the most ideal footprint for discus but it will have to do for now. Here are a couple pictures of the tank, first one is from years ago when it was first setup as a salt tank.

I look forward to being a member of this forum! It seems people share the same passion about discus that others do with reef tanks.

http://i1060.photobucket.com/albums/t455/RoyalAquariums/post-11779-0-94908100-1304299560_thumb_zps95d5895f.jpg

http://i1060.photobucket.com/albums/t455/RoyalAquariums/images_zps12519de7.jpg

Gene
07-26-2013, 10:32 PM
Welcome to SD! A general rule for adults is 10g per fish. There is LOTS of good reading in the beginner section. Good luck with your new venture

timmy82
07-27-2013, 12:00 AM