PDA

View Full Version : new guy, new tank, blank slate!

littleyellow
07-29-2013, 12:45 PM
This questionnaire may be used to either help you to describe your new tank setup for discus or be a “food for thought” checklist while you consider what your goals are with your new discus tank setup.

1) Please Introduce yourself and tell us what your experience is with fishkeeping, give us as much information as possible as to how long in the hobby, what you have kept in the past and what you currently are working with.

Hello! My name is Carl and I have been keeping a community 26g bow front on and off for about 9 years that is currently heavily planted with Turquoise Rainbows and have recently scored a 120g, 2x2x4 rimless glass tank ($100 on craigslist!) that I will be making into a Discus tank. It has no stand, is not tempered and I am starting off with this post to get some help on where I am going to be going with this tank.

2) If you have no previous experience with keeping discus, have you done any research to properly prepare yourself, e.g. have you read any Stickies in this section of SimplyDiscus, or other material?

I have been reading info on this site and a few others almost non-stop for 2 weeks which I know still isn’t even close to enough but I also haven’t even begun anything with the tank)

3) Describe your tank, its size and dimensions, breeding or display. Include how long it has been setup or if it is still being cycled.

120g rimless, 4’ wide, 2’ deep/tall that will be for display and is currently sitting empty. Depending on filtration, I also might be looking to drill the tank for bulkheads but I am nowhere near sure about that.

4) Describe the décor for the tank; type of substrate or bare bottom (BB), whether the tank will be planted or a biotope.

Would love to get some ideas on how to set it up.

5) Describe your water changes planned or practiced, percentage and how often. Include if you age your water and use of tap/RO or mix.