PDA

View Full Version : Feeding schedule

azmtns
08-12-2013, 03:43 AM
After reading many posts on this excellent website, I am curious as to why Discus require 4 to 5 feedings a day. Is it a kind of extreme metabolism because of the very high temperatures we are keeping the fish at? I realize most people on this website want the fastest growth possible to generate show specimens. Yet for the casual fish hobbyist, that just does not seem feasable. I do not wish to insult and I am new to keeping discus, but I have worked with other cichlids and many different killifish and livebearers and I think we keep fish too warm in general. Are discus so specialized that they require such aggressive feeding and maintenence schedules or our we perpetuatin the myth that discus are too difficult for the average hobbyist. I regularly fast my other cichlids at least once or twice a week just for their health, are discus so different? I also have found that Central american cichlids and various south american cichlids other then discus enjoy cooler temperatures then recomended and live longer. I am just thinking out loud, but if we keep them cooler and feed less, with clean water will they not eventually grow to full adult size and live longer lives? They must have difficulties finding food in the wild, all creatures do?

I realize that people are getting excellent results with respect to size and spawning, using many feedings, many water changes and extremely warm temperatures. Yet are we getting good results with longevity? I'm just curious if people are keeping them a different way and just not speaking about it for fear of being bombarded with criticism?

I'm just curious, I do not intend to offend. Yet I have been put off in keeping discus because of the extreme measures discussed to keep them.

John_Nicholson
08-12-2013, 07:37 AM