PDA

View Full Version : 1 fish not eating + white feces, after being bullied & high nitrite levels

j0ris
08-22-2013, 06:37 PM
1. Please explain the problems with your fish. When did you notice the problems and did anything unusual happen that you think started them?

I'm new to discus fish, just bought 5 about 3 weeks ago.

It all seemed to go OK, except for one fish being bullied by the largest of them all. About a week ago this fish stopped eating, and started having white feces (solid string, it doesn't look slimey to me). On top of that there were high levels of NO2 in the tank due to insufficient water changes (entirely my own fault which I dearly regret).

So I suspect the cause is stress by bullying and too much nitrite. Both problems were taken away 3 days ago: I put the bully in a separate tank, and I've been doing lots of water changes while monitoring NO2.

However the fish doesn't seem to be getting better. He's also not getting worse: looks healthy and swims along with the others, but he just won't eat anything and his feces keeps being white. I'm getting worried as I read once a discus starts having white feces and stops eating, he may be hard to save.

My main question: shall I just try and wait for him to get better by himself, or do I need to take action now before he gets worse, and use some kind of medication?

2. Symptoms (i.e. turning dark, excess slime, not eating, clamped fins, flashing, darting, clamped gills, white/yellow/green poop, hiding, headstanding or tailstanding, white on tips of fins, rotting or fungus, blisters/white zits on fish, bloated, cloudy eyes, wounds).

White poop, will not eat.

3. What medications/ treatments have you already tried and what were the results. Include dosage and duration of treatment.

I turned up the heating a few degrees, as I read this may help against internal parasites.

Tank/Water

4. Tank size and ages, numbers and sizes of fish.

120 x 50 x 50 cm (= 50 x 20 x 20 inch)