PDA

View Full Version : When is a discus no longer juvenile?

locodiscus
08-26-2013, 09:01 PM
Discus noob here getting close to making my first discus purchase for a 56 gallon display tank in a formal living room. I had planned on getting five juvies (3" from Discus Hans) to save money. I've been obsessively reading SD for the last few weeks and now realize that bare-bottom is a must for juvies. Since wife's not thrilled about that look in a formal living room and we all want a display tank right away, we've decided to instead go with a larger size that can go in immediately. My question is how big would that be? In discuspaul's Beginner's Guide sticky, he sounds like he's saying 4 inches would be considered a near adult. So is that that the size where a discus is no longer a juvenile and therefore big enough to go straight into a display tank? Really hope so because the price for 5 full-sized adults is way too much.

The display tank, in my case, would have 1 inch of pool filter sand and lightly planted. That is, a few anubias and/or Java ferns tied to a single Malaysian driftwood. Also have a couple branches of Manzanita. Right now, there's only the sand while it's cycling (fishless).

I have two AquaClear 70 HOBs with Fluval pre-filter sponges. Each have 2 foam blocks and 2 AC 70 BioMax bags. Also have 2 100-watt Cobalt Neo-Therm heaters. I plan on replacing one of the foam blocks with a bag of Purigen.

Thanks for any help!

blueluv
08-26-2013, 09:12 PM
About 4.5 -5" , I think they're referred to as sub-adults. Looks like your the right path with your set. If not the 56 gallon what size are you planning on getting. If you're planning a planted tank, I would go with discus about 5 or 6".

blueluv
08-26-2013, 09:13 PM
Are you planning on growing out these juvies in the 55 and then move them to the bigger planted tank?

camuth8
08-26-2013, 09:58 PM
I agree with Chris. 4.5-5" is probably the beginning of adulthood.

discuspaul
08-26-2013, 10:03 PM