PDA

View Full Version : Newbie looking for constructive comments on new purchase

aggriffin3
09-11-2013, 12:23 PM
http://s1129.photobucket.com/user/aggriffin3/library/

I am new to both the forum and to Discus. I picked these 4" Discus up from a friend who purchased them from a well known breeder in this area. I have no interest in breeding these at the moment, but can you look at them and let me know what you think as far as color, shape, eyes, fins, etc. Let me have it. I can take constructive critism or comments.
If I can make these work/live, I will get into more of a high dollar fish (these I purchased for 10.00 a piece). These were raised on RO water with 50% WC, but I am keeping them in the city tap water, which works well for my GBR's and seems to be working with them. (1 month now).

Thank you in advance

Art

DiscusLoverJeff
09-11-2013, 12:34 PM
Very nice looking young discus. Good shape. Did they tell you what the strain(s) were?

William Palumbo
09-11-2013, 12:38 PM
They are not too bad. They could be a bit rounder looking at the pics, and the eye is a bit large on some. But they still have a lot of growing to do. That strain is pretty hardy IME and also take awhile to fully color up, with females usually being more red than the males. Lots of feedings and wc's will do them well. Should turn out to be nice fish. All the best...Bill

aggriffin3
09-11-2013, 02:18 PM
Thanks, I will keep up the WC, and maybe even add a WC or two. These came from a very well known breeder, but I will not mention his name as I was not there when my friend purchased them, and dont know the circumstances that these were sold to him.
Thanks again, and I will continue to come here for valuable info.
By the way, I have a tank of eartheaters (altifrons and red heads Tapajos) and Uarus that I have up and running for the last 4 months. Cant wait until they all grow out.

Art

nc0gnet0
09-11-2013, 04:16 PM
Can I ask where you live?

Rick

DonMD
09-11-2013, 06:16 PM