PDA

View Full Version : New to Discus, setting up a 90 gallon planted tank

knockout
09-17-2013, 05:28 PM
Hello everyone, I am new to Discus, not new in the aquarium hobby, I've been keeping reef tanks for almost 10 years now and ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS wanted to plunge into a Discus tank, well the tank is here, will be building a stand for it in the next days and wanted to get as much info as I can from your experiences starting a Discus tank....

I usually cycle my salt water tanks using the shrimp method, should I be doing the same here (my little voice in the brain says yes) what's your opinion

this will also be a planted tank, should I use any type of CO2 injection, is it detrimental to the fish?

Skip
09-17-2013, 05:35 PM
stick to bare bottom tank.. until you are confident of your discus keeping skills.. THEN upgrade..

discuspaul
09-17-2013, 05:59 PM
As warlock said, the best/ safest approach for newcomers to discus is to go bare-bottom, until you're comfortable with discus traits, behaviors and needs. This should also be undertaken only after you have done the essential research on caring for discus. If you haven't yet done so, please review/read the stickies here in the discus basics section.

If you must start off with a planted tank, it's important that you do so only if you plan on getting adult, or near adult fish of 5" or more from a reputable supplier; plant sparingly to begin with to allow yourself ample tank cleansing space; and avoid the use of any pressurized CO2 until you're well familiar with discus care.
Welcome to SD and best of luck to you.

strawberryblonde
09-17-2013, 06:13 PM
Hello everyone, I am new to Discus, not new in the aquarium hobby, I've been keeping reef tanks for almost 10 years now and ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS wanted to plunge into a Discus tank, well the tank is here, will be building a stand for it in the next days and wanted to get as much info as I can from your experiences starting a Discus tank....