PDA

View Full Version : Advices regarding stocking and distribution.

seashell_midwest
09-19-2013, 05:28 PM
Hi I am new to discus.
I have 55 gallon, 75 gallon, 40 gallon, 20 gallon and 10 gallon tank.

55 gallon and 75 gallon are cycled and running.

55 gallon has 13 neon tetra, 5 albino brittlenose, and 30 cherry red shrimp.

Planning to get 50 cardinal tetra, 24 glo light tetra, 6 mixed veil angel fish and 10 discus (2.5 to 3 inchs).

Would like to make 55 gallon a planted aquarium and have 75 gallon as bare bottom to grow the discus. And once the discus grow, will get a 120 gallon show tank.
So how do I distribute my fishes. Any suggestions.

I thought I will have 20 gallon settup as a shrimp only tank with a sponge filter and aquaclear 55 hob, with gravel and plants in it.

55 gallon will have 13 neon tetras, 25 cardinal tetra and 12 glow tetra and 6 mixed veil angelfish ( wondering if i am overstocking the tank, getting the angle fish from freshwatertropicalfishonline.com) and 2 brittle nose. filter eheim 2217, spong filter #4, moving bed filter with K1 media.

75 gallon will have 10 discus, 25 cardinal, 12 glow and 3 brittle nose. My main question is by having the cardinal/glow/brittlenose in will i compromise the growth of my discus?? and this will be a barebottom tank. will do 60% water change 2-3 times a week. with a aged water. thanks in advance for the advice.
filter sunsun 304-B, spong filter #5, moving bed filter with K1 media.

azmtns
09-19-2013, 08:01 PM
Eventually, the angelfish will eat the tetra's. The discus will most likely also eat the tetra's. You might get away with tetra's and angelfish for awhile, but not such small tetra's. I keep emperor tetra's and a few different larger barbs with angelfish (both full adult) and they are ok. I speak from personal experience that the neon's and cardinals will be lunch for adult angelfish.

Frankr409
09-19-2013, 08:20 PM